top of page

Creative Lecture


I enjoy lecture,

I like it as a learner, I like it as an instructor.

For me, I enjoy conveying and receiving this information in an oral method that follows a train of concepts.

What I REALLY love as a facilitator is venturing into new content enough to stir up questions that become organic discussions forums.

I often use real life scenarios and play devils advocate a time or two.

Because the content circles around ethics, some are a worst case scenario.

I find by opening the floor to fears and projections of worst case scenarios, it really reassures students that now they have a rebuttal and an avenue to control the worst case scenario.

Students emerge after they have walked through their version of Dante's intensity levels of a difficult conversation with a client. Then IF it ever happens (and I reassure using my own estimate my 15 years as a therapist and thousands of students I've taught, and how frequent;y "this" issue actually has come up) they know what to do.

This takes on the critical thinking aspect Broofsfield discusses in Chapter 6 of his book, The Skillful Teacher, which I feel is the essential skill we are trying to build in the minds of our adult learners.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page